Reason 184

#184: National Arboretum

There are a lot of trees in DC. Lots of trees. Trees everywhere. And lots of cherry blossom trees, which are of course my favorite. Except for the tourists that come with the cherry blossom trees. The tourists I could do without.

Because there are trees everywhere, I never really got the point of the National Arboretum. I kind of assumed it was a boring, semi-abandoned museum of trees.

And it’s far from my neighborhood. Well, not far-far because DC is tiny, but not-walking-distance far.

As a result, whenever anyone said anything about the Arboretum I smiled and quietly judged them for trekking halfway to Baltimore to look at trees. And then last week, I was proven very, very wrong, which often happens when I decide to try something after initially ruling it out for no good reason.

The list of things that I decided I didn’t like without trying and then changed my mind about is longer than the lyrics to American Pie. Here’s a few things I ended up having to change my mind about:

(Here this is “American Pie.” It’s 8+ minutes long.)

  • Soccer Team USA
  • The Nats
  • Cream cheese
  • WMATA bus service
  • Things that smell like eucalyptus
  • Dulles
  • Jud Apatow movies
  • Long Island Iced Tea
  • Manicures
  • The MARC
  • Ann Taylor
  • Books written by comedians
  • H Street
  • Vegetarianism
  • Queso blanco
  • Borrowing ebooks from DC public library
  • Soy milk
  • Almond milk
  • 1% milk
  • 2% milk
  • Milk in general
  • Yogurt
  • Every cocktail I’ve ever tried
  • United Airlines
  • Detroit
  • Cheesecake
  • Twitter

Any way, I finally went to the Arboretum and it is gorgeous and fun and a great thing to do in DC. It is not at all a half-abandoned museum of trees. Rather, it’s a beautiful and spacious park that is home to lots and lots of cherry blossom trees and two baby eagles. Go visit if you can.

 

Leave a Reply

