Reason 188

#188: The ice-skating rink at the National Gallery of Art’s sculpture garden.

This one is from the original list, reposted today because after two weeks of feeling like I live in Florida, winter finally managed to show up. Now I’m really, really cold. Two weeks ago I was complaining about the unseasonable weather. Now I’m complaining about the cold.

846_111879545304_6975_n

Ice-skating a while ago in jeans and someone else’s jacket.

Contrary to what people would expect of someone raised in Venezuela, I’m a pretty good ice-skater, which makes people scratch their head and wonder where I learned. I lived in Northern Michigan. Like, the left hand of Michigan. The top part of the left hand. I learned. Visiting an ice-skating rink is awesome because I get to skate and move and be active, which I love, and I get to use the awesome explanatory power of my time in Michigan, which I also love (both the explanatory power and the state.) For all of these (sub)reasons, I’m glad to have a pretty freaking cool ice-rink in my own town.

There is also now an ice-rink in Georgetown somewhere. I assume leggings and North Face jackets or Burberry coats and Hunter boots are mandatory there, but I don’t know for sure. I haven’t had a reason to go check it out because the one at the National Gallery of Art is so beautiful and not-that-expensive. It’s open a few more weeks too, so you still have time to check it out. Maybe take someone on a date there a la Aziz Ansari and the Monster Truck thing.

(To be fair, I acknowledge that other towns also have cool ice-rinks. Buffalo has a gorgeous one and a super cheap one, for example. As with all things, saying that one thing is awesome or valuable doesn’t mean that something else is less awesome or less valuable.)

One thought on “Reason 188

  1. Pingback: Reason 186 | fabifabiana

Leave a Reply

