Reason 191

#191: The driver’s license.

I have the old license still

I have the old license still

District of Columbia drivers’ licenses are the least common of all in the US. And I get to have one. I would not trade it for the second least common which is, I think, North Dakota. It’s so uncommon that people do from time to time get stopped at the airport by officials unfamiliar with the 51st state.

I always feel like a boss when I show my DC driver’s license to TSA people in say, Marquette, MI or Starkville, MS (both real places I have been: one very recently, the other a couple of years ago.)

The only time I’ve ever felt really bad about my DC driver’s license was traveling back during the shutdown. I was pretty sure that the TSA guy held me personally responsible for all his problems even though, like most people in DC, I had absolutely nothing to do with any of that.

The best part about my DC driver’s license is that I only ever use it as an ID because in this wonderful place, I never have to drive anywhere. Thank you huge sidewalks, metro, metrobus, Uber, cabs, etc.

Leave a Reply

