Reason 193

#193: Wolf Trap

Wolf Trap is not technically in DC. It’s way out there by the “other” airport, Dulles. I’m not sure where it is exactly. It’s in Virginia somewhere. I do know that it’s accessible through public transit (via bus from somewhere), so I’ll take that as counting it as a DC thing*. It certainly is a DC-area thing.

Wolf Trap is a very beautiful park and outdoor concert venue. I was lucky to get to see Alejandro Sanz perform there a few years ago and even luckier to see BuenaVista Social Club a few days ago. The lawn was packed with people sitting on blankets and folding chairs and drinking wine and beer and eating chips and bread and cheese and salad and things that they bought at Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s because that’s how people are in DC.

I was wearing a pretty dress and was with amazing company. We brought Malbec (because I don’t know how to pick wine and so I went for Malbec) and empanadas from Panas Gourmet in Dupont. If you haven’t tried those yet, you definitely should. They pair well with outdoor Latin music concerts and Malbec. Actually, I don’t know if they pair with Malbec or not, probably not, but it sounded fancy to say they did.

I didn't take any pictures of the concert, the venue or the dress, so I leave you with this picture instead.

I didn’t take any pictures of the concert, the venue or the dress, so I leave you with this picture instead.

*I have not tested this out, but I have seen signs for the bus, so you could try that.

Leave a Reply

