Reason 196

#196: Small businesses

All of the days around Thanksgiving are now taken up by things:

– Thanksgiving: the day that started it all. A celebration of the first shared meal between colonizers and the people they decimated, now taken as a great celebration of family and good things.

– Black Friday: the classic, All-American, let’s go in a mad dash to buy things we don’t need, celebration of the triumph of retail over restraint.

– Small Business Saturday: sponsored by American Express, as far as I can tell. A day that celebrates that there are still coffee places that are not Starbucks.

– Sunday: we don’t mess with Sunday because of god.

– CyberMonday: amazon’s attempt to get their own day for people to buy things that look good online but actually suck in real life.

– Giving Tuesday: a day to get emails from every organization you ever gave to asking you to give again. Also a day to remember that because of all the stuff that we were thankful for on the previous Thursday, we have a lot of responsibilities.

"HARRY: [Makes buzzer sound]. I’m sorry. I need a judge’s ruling on this. Days of the week underpants? SALLY: Yes. They had the days of the week on them and I thought they were sort of funny. And then one day Sheldon says to me, “You never wear Sunday.” He’s all suspicious, “Where was Sunday? Where had I left Sunday?” And I told him and he didn’t believe me. HARRY: What? SALLY: They don’t make Sunday. HARRY: Why not? SALLY: Because of God."

“HARRY: [Makes buzzer sound]. I’m sorry. I need a judge’s ruling on this. Days of the week underpants?
SALLY: Yes. They had the days of the week on them and I thought they were sort of funny. And then one day Sheldon says to me, “You never wear Sunday.” He’s all suspicious, “Where was Sunday? Where had I left Sunday?” And I told him and he didn’t believe me.
HARRY: What?
SALLY: They don’t make Sunday.
HARRY: Why not?
SALLY: Because of God.”

This year I participated in Friendsgiving, Small Business Saturday, CyberMonday and Giving Tuesday.

I loved Friendsgiving and Giving Tuesday, but my favorite was Small Business Saturday because there were just so many great places to support. There are tons of cool coffee places, which I mostly know about because my friend Mara likes going to coffee places to “work” (write, read and complain about PhD life). There are a million book places, which Obama visits evert year on this day. There are tons of great restaurants. And a bunch of tiny shops.

url

Here are my favorite small businesses in my neighborhood:

– Kramerbooks

– Table Top

– Bethesda Bagel

Here are my favorite small businesses not in my neighborhood:

– Uprising Muffin Company

– The Commisary

– Home Rule

Most of all, I love that there are TONS of small businesses in DC and that it’s way easier to find a great small business than a BestBuy with a parking lot.

Leave a Reply

