Reason 197

#197: Friendsgivings

I was born to a loving, beautiful family, which is fantastic. It’s great to have a loving family because well, duh. It’s fantastic to have a beautiful family because that’s hereditary. My loving, beautiful family lives (mostly) in Venezuela. Which has two not-so-cool implications*. First, they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving because Venezuelans don’t celebrate Thanksgiving. It’s unclear that our indigenous people invited the Spaniards to lunch. Second, it means that they are far away (or really I am far away from them) for Thanksgiving.

One of my very first Friendsgivings in DC with one of the fanciest people I know. Thank you, Kim!

One of my very first Friendsgivings in DC with one of the fanciest people I know. Thank you, Kim!

Here is where fantastic friends come in. I am friends with lots and lots of people, all of whom are really loving and great and beautiful. The loving and great is important because well, duh. The beautiful part is medium ok because beautiful is not contagious. Anyway, these loving and great and beautiful people know that I (and other people) don’t get to go home for Thanksgiving, so they have Friendsgiving celebrations. Friendsgiving is where you give thanks for friends that invite you to dinner on/around Thanksgiving.

I am thankful for having friends that invite me to Friendsgiving. Thankful that they never ask me to cook anything. Thankful for my loving, beautiful family. Thankful that I live in a city where not everyone leaves for Thanksgiving. And thankful that I live in the best city in the world.

Last Friendsgiving

Last Friendsgiving

*This word is here because I am working on my prospectus.

Leave a Reply

