Reason 204

#204: I have lived here for a long, long time

Not as long as the people that moved here in 2003 or the people that were born here and have never left, but a really long time. I have lived here 2,780 days. Because I have lived here forever and because I love to walk, I have been a million places in DC. Well, maybe not a million. I sometimes* exaggerate with numbers, but lots of places.

There are a lot of really great things about living here for a long, long time:

I am qualified to give directions to other people

I have a lot of friends

I have a favorite everything

– I also haven’t broken a lease, which is a really good thing. I used to break leases ALL the time.

This is because in the seven years, seven months and three days that I have lived here I have really lived here. I go do tourist things. I walk around. I talk to people. I visit museums. I (sometimes, but not a lot) try out new places to eat. I really, really live here and I love that. I don’t live here like I could live in Fargo, ND (Hi, Goleen!). I live here like I could only live here. I’m not watching TV all day, eating at chain restaurants and wishing I was somewhere else. I study at the Library of Congress and run on the Mall and Rock Creek Park and walk by the White House every chance I get just because it’s so pretty. And because I can and because I live here.

Really cool portrait of Cassat by Degas that I saw with Vero (hi Vero!) at the National Gallery of Art.

Really cool portrait of Cassat by Degas that I saw with Vero (hi Vero!) at the National Gallery of Art.

The downside of all this really living here thing is that it’s tied to giant fear of missing out. I can’t just sit quietly at home. I always think there’s a new exhibit somewhere I have to see or some people having a good time at Meridian Hill Park or something. So all the really living here stuff can be really exhausting, but for the most part, it’s fun. And it makes it so I can brag: “you’ve never been to the Library of Congress? really? how long have you lived here?” which I should probably stop doing because it’s mean (I’m sorry!) but, oh well.

*”sometimes” means “always” in this context.

Leave a Reply

