On the best movie ever

Contrary to what 95% of American males think, the best movie ever is not The Godfather. Or the Godfather II. Or Goodfellas. Or any mafia movie. Or even a movie with guns. The best movie ever is Cool Runnings.

You can laugh.

images

But it’s true. Cool Runnings is inspirational, it’s happy, it’s funny and it has memorable quotes. Really, what more could you want from a movie?

So the best movie ever, in my opinion, is starring John Candy and Doug E. Doug and was made by Disney about 20 years ago or maybe more. I saw it in the theater in Venezuela (I am that old), but in Venezuela movies used to arrive much later than their US release, so I don’t know when I saw it first. I do know that I have seen it about a hundred times since and that I would happily watch it again.

Today I was asked in front of a room full of undergraduates about my favorite movie. I answered it was Cool Runnings because that’s the truth and I always tell the truth. This made people laugh for a long time, like if they were remembering a scene from a movie.

In addition to being really, really funny, Cool Runnings also says things that are true. A couple of weeks ago I got called out for being “too latina.” I’m not sure what it means but it sounded not nice. My guess is that it was a way to say that I am really loud and dramatic in a place where nobody else is loud or dramatic. I was feeling kind of bad about it, and then I remembered sage wisdom from the best movie ever:

Junior Bevill: Seeming to you nobody likes us?

Yul Brenner: We’re different. People are always afraid of what’s different.

And then everything was ok. Cool Runnings made everything ok. And it makes me laugh and think of my sister who laughs with me every time we watch it. So yes, Cool Runnings is definitely the best movie ever, at least as far as I am concerned.

2 thoughts on “On the best movie ever

  1. My favorite is “Blues Brothers” for much the same reasons. Fabi, “Latina” or whatever, do not ever change. You are an awesome lady and I am proud to be your friend.

  2. I could not agree more with John, only that I am prouder because I am your dad and Latino. You are like Mary Poppies, also one of my favorite movies Dios te bendiga

Leave a Reply

