Reason 228

#228: DC is America’s most literate city.

I only found out about this today (minutes ago) but it’s a great thing. Take that New York and San Francisco.

According to the Post story that I read, the list is compiled by Central Connecticut State University (I’d never heard of it either, but I graduated from Northern Michigan University and don’t feel like berating other regional schools. Except for maybe Central Michigan University. Oh, and Eastern Michigan University. And Western Michigan University. There is no Southern Michigan University). Anyway, we made the top of the list. We are geniuses.

The stuff Central Connecticut State University considered includes:

1- Bookstores.We have some great ones. Kramerbooks. Idle Times. We even used to have a Barnes & Noble.

2- Internet resources. I don’t know what that means, but I am sure we have some great ones. I mean, I am online right now.

3- Periodical publishing resources. Again, I am not sure what that means, but we have some cool free newspapers like The Express.

4- Newspaper circulation. Washington Post, I love you.

I am not sure I am super convinced by CCSU’s criteria for this list but as with any list of good things, I’m glad we came out on top.

Here's the list taken as a screen shot from the WaPo page because I needed a picture for this post.

Here’s the list taken as a screen shot from the WaPo page because I needed a picture for this post.

Leave a Reply

