Reason 236

#236: Jordin’s Paradise

They sell this t-shirt at the studio. Genius.

They sell this t-shirt at the studio. Genius.

This is a new addition to the list.

I first heard of Jordin’s Paradise when it they had only one location somewhere close to where my friends live. It was in Shaw, I think. Two of them went to a kickboxing class and reported the following day that they felt like they had been trampled by a stampede of horses blasting Beyonce. That seemed like a pretty excellent result to me, so off to Jordin’s I went.

Or at least I tried. I bought a Groupon and never went. Bought a Living Social deal and never went. Signed up for the free trial class and never went. Then they opened a location in Dupont Circle, a block from my office. This time I was gonna go for sure.

So I bought a Groupon and didn’t go. Signed up for the free trial class and never went. And then I bought another Groupon (if you’re counting, I’ve spent $100+ on this already) and finally went.

The first class I tried was flirtified chair dance. I described it to people as “dancing with a chair” and people translated it as “lap dance class.” That’s not what it is. It’s dancing hard core with a metal chair. The result is that the next day you have numerous bruises and feel like you have been trampled over by a stampede of metal horses blaring Beyonce. Fun times.

Then I tried the pole class. Like a stripper. That was fun, but I am very, very bad at it. The whole point of the thing is to try to lift your own body way up a slippery pole while twirling and walking and kicking. Not easy. But fun.

Then I tried Funkified. This is an amazing class where you learn coreography to a song. It’s like advanced Zumba, if you will. I love it.

[There you can see me missing a bunch of beats. I’ve gotten better.]

Even though I have no fewer than half a dozen bruises to show for it, I plan to keep going. I’m on a roll.

One thought on “Reason 236

  1. Pingback: Reason 194 | fabifabiana

Leave a Reply

