On being Capricorn

A few weeks ago I was talking with some classmates about how I think most days the Express horoscope is pretty accurate. Or rather, if that horoscope says something good about my day, I believe it. If it says something bad, I disregard it and toss the paper at the closest trashcan (or recycle-can). Then I asked them if they had noticed that most students in our program have birthdays around the same time of the year. Maybe I am biased to notice only birthdays close to mine, but it definitely seems to me like most people in our program are Capricorn, Sagittarius or Taurus. This was true of my old research job too: with the exception of one person (who left), everyone else was a Capricorn or a Sagittarius.

I am a Capricorn, which I understand to mean that I am very type-A and very bossy. At least that’s what people tell me. I am also ENTJ, so the bossy/judgmental/type-A could be coming from there if you believe in Myers-Briggs. Still, Google Capricorn and you’ll get a million pages of adjectives like strong-willed, planner, organized and a bunch of references to goats and never giving up, etc. It’s fun for the first one and a half minutes, then it’s ridiculous.

images

After my realization that most students in our department are Capricorn, someone challenged me to find out what the faculty are. Capricorn and all, I declined. This is a group of people that decide my future, and they already think I’m crazy. No need to provide more evidence for this by going around asking them for their astrological sign. So I didn’t pursue this. I suspect that they are also Capricorn, Sagittarius and Taurus, but  I don’t know for sure.

Then two days ago I had a nightmare that I was face-to-face with a Brazilian dictator. In my nightmare the dictator was Fulgencio Batista, who is the Cuban dictator that preceeded Fidel Castro. I think my subconscious picked him because Fulgencio is such a cool dictator name. I woke up in a panic at 4am and decided that the only way to calm down was to Google Fulgencio Batista, double-check the date of his death and go back to sleep. Wikipedia tells me that he died in August 1973. It also tells me he was born on January 16, 1901. He’s a Capricorn!

Since I couldn’t test my Capricorn theory on the faculty, I decided to test it on Latin American dictators (Central and South American, no Caribbean, no Fulgencio). It turns out I was wrong. Most dictators (9 out of 39) are Leo. Only three are Capricorn. Five are Sagittarius, so at least I was on to something there.

Astrological signs of Central and South American Dictators

Astrological signs of Central and South American Dictators

Latin American dictators by astrological sign

Latin American dictators by astrological sign

The nicest people are Cancer, Virgo and Pisces. Or at least the least likely to be dictators.

All of this of course means nothing because astrological signs mean nothing. This is especially true now that they “discovered” that there is a 13th sign. Still, I discovered that I share my birthday with ZERO Latin American dictators, which is nice.

Leave a Reply

