Reason 244

#244: Saint Matthew’s Cathedral

I took this picture from Wikipedia

I took this picture from Wikipedia

Saint Matthew’s Cathedral is the Catholic Cathedral in Washington, DC. This is not to be confused with National Cathedral or with the National Shrine. The National Cathedral is Episcopalian. The National Shrine is Catholic and is important and gorgeous, but is not the Catholic Cathedral. That goes to Saint Matthew’s.

Here’s some stuff I love about Saint Matthews:

1- I am Catholic, so I am biased.

2- It’s in Dupont Circle, which is my favorite neighborhood and also my own neighborhood, so again, I am biased.

3- The 5:30pm Mass is always packed, which makes it lively and nice.

Here’s some important stuff about Saint Matthews:

1- It’s where Red Mass is held every year. Red Mass is the Mass that celebrates the start of the term of the Supreme Court.

2- It’s where JFK’s funeral was held.

3- Pope John Pal II celebrated Mass there.

Red Mass is very fancy

Red Mass is very fancy

Leave a Reply

