Reason 246

#246: The George Washington University

Because it is my university and I always, always cheer for the home team. It’s not a beautiful campus (I am not a big fan of urban universities that integrate their campus into the city), but it is a great school. Today I registered for classes for the last time ever in my life. I have said this twice already (once when I was at the end of my undergrad, once when I was at the end of my MA program) but this time it’s for real. There’s nothing after PhD. Well, hopefully not nothing, hopefully there’s a long life of me being exceedingly happy to be Dr. Fabi (that’s the name I plan to use) but there are no more degrees. I still have a long, long, long way to go to Dr. Fabi, but after May 2014 at least the coursework park will be done.

So on this last day that I sign up for classes, I celebrate GW for the great opportunity that it has given me and for being named after the same guy that my city is named for.

Rather unfortunate gazillion dollar logo for my school.

Rather unfortunate gazillion dollar logo for my school.

Leave a Reply

