On not yet knowing whether I passed the exam

It has been a bunch of days, like 14, since I took the written part of the comprehensive exam for my PhD program. I still don’t know whether I passed. I find out after the oral part of the exam, which is scheduled for next week. Next WEEK. 19 days after I took the written part.

I have been suffering. And stressing. A lot.

Today I had the genius idea to go to the comparative politics workshop, where someone was presenting a paper on democracy.

It ended up being one and a half hours of questions similar to the ones I answered in my exam and people mentioning people that I mentioned in my exam. And the person that answered the questions had a Venezuelan accent like mine.

This is what it felt like.

On being forced to listen to 2.5 hours of people asking horrible questions to a guy with my same accent.

Leave a Reply

