Reason 260

#260: World Market

I re-discovered this place this weekend with Alana, Marta and Amy. I met Alanna and Marta six years ago. They were students in my class the first time I taught the Advanced Spanish class at The Global Language Network. Now Alana lives in a condo she rents from another person that was my Spanish student and I am about to start teaching my 10th (or maybe 11th) Advanced Spanish Class at the GLN, but more on that later.

This weekend I visited Alanna and Marta and Amy in Pentagon City (not DC, but still cool). After a weird but delicious brunch (one person/me is vegetarian and one was allergic to eggs), we went wandering around the area. We went to Starbucks. And Ann Taylor Loft. And World Market. And my life forever changed for the better. Ok, maybe not forever, but the 24 hours since my visit to World Market have definitely been better than most 24-hour periods after visiting any other market.

I bought wine. Right there you already know it’s an awesome place. It was cheap and it is delicious. The perfect wine in my opinion. I bought food that looks delicious and fancy and requires only minimal preparation (Tuscan artichoke pesto, for example). I bought a bunch of resusable bags. To be fair those are not improving my life, but I need them for work, so that’s ok. I bought wine and checked one item off my to-do list on the same trip. Pretty good in my opinion.

Very soon I want to go back to World Market to buy the following thing:

Ceres juice. This is imported from Brazil. Apparently, this is the only kind of juice they sell in Venezuela after we stopped producing stuff, so I really want to try it.

A basket filled with mini things (mini cheese, mini champagne, etc). Great generic gift. I am sure I’ll find someone to give this too.

A wine stopper. Now that I finally know what they are, I want one.

Nutella. Because really, why wouldn’t you buy Nutella every chance you get?

Wine. So I can try out the wine stopper.

I had taken a picture of Alana, Marta and Amy to include here, but they would kill me if I put that picture online, so here is a picture of wine stoppers instead.

I had taken a picture of Alanna, Marta and Amy to include here, but they would kill me if I put that picture online, so here is a picture of wine stoppers instead.

Leave a Reply

