Reason 270

#270: The FDR Memorial

First, a confession. Today was the first time I ever visited this memorial. Or rather, today was the first time that I visited this memorial and paid attention to it. I think for my friends’ rehearsal dinner (which was the best rehearsal dinner ever) we had a picnic close to the memorial somewhere. We got there via full-stocked party bus, so I don’t remember a whole lot about the memorial.

This was the awesome party bus

This was the awesome party bus

 

This was one of the stops

This was one of the stops

 

 

The bride and groom rehearsing

The bride and groom rehearsing

 

This morning I got to see it at 5:30am, in the rain. It looked gorgeous. Partly because it truly is beautiful. Partly because it is secluded (and difficult to get to). Partly because I had just come from the Tidal Basin and the Jefferson Memorial, which is also gorgeous. Partly because I was tired and I knew that by this point I was a little more than half-way to the end of my run.

It was beautiful and definitely worth visiting, especially as part of a run.

Proof that it is beautiful

Proof that it is beautiful

Leave a Reply

