Reason 309

#309: Running

Everyone in this town runs. Everyone. It doesn’t matter how early, cold, rainy or snowy it is. Or how late or dark or hot or humid. There is always someone running somewhere. Today the crazy people running at 7am on Easter morning included… me! I went for an amazing run with my students that took us along many of my favorite Washington, DC things: Rock Creek Park, Dupont Circle, The White House, The WW II Memorial and the Tidal Basin. The run was supposed to end at the cherry blossoms, but alas, there are no blossoms so we ended at MLK Memorial.

At the end of the run.

At the end of the run.

I am not a runner person. I am not one of those people that enjoys the feeling of “me and the road” or whatever. I wish desperately that I was, but no matter how hard I try, it seems that I am not. I can run and dance and survive really hard core fitness classes. I just don’t enjoy running the way people in the What women want commercial enjoy running. To get from Woodley Park to MLK I needed “Girl on Fire”, “Club can’t handle us” and “Waka waka.” And that was just three miles. In DC.

Leave a Reply

