Reason 312

#312: Georgetown University

Who cares if they lost to University of Phoenix? I would only pick my school based on its basketball team if I was a 200 lbs, 7ft tall guy that was a genius at dribbling and basketing (is that a word? there is a word “encestar” in Spanish). Also, Georgetown was an excellent team throughout the whole regular season. They gave us plenty of opportunity to gray out and talk smack about Syracuse. I am proud of them.

But that’s not why I love Georgetown University. I love it because it gave me two things that I cherish: a great education and amazing friends. 

Yesterday I got to go back there for an alumni event. It was an alumni update on the Center for Latin American Studies organized by the alumni association of that Center, which as far as I can tell is comprised of just two fantastic people that know how to plan excellent things and have tons of wine.

These are some of the awesome things I got to do yesterday because of this event:

  • Go to the University for a real reason, not just to the library or Dahlgren Chapel.
  • Stand in line awkwardly at Mug waiting for someone to realize I already graduated and kick me out
  • Drop my eleven bags, coat, etc on one of the chairs at CLAS and run into Julie’s office
  • Visit Julie
  • Speak Spanish
  • See Danny Rico
  • See Jake Bathanti
  • See Professor Langer and talk about Venezuela
  • Stand in line awkwardly at the GUTS bus stop waiting for someone to realize I already graduated and kick me out
  • Drink wine
  • Take wine home (thank you, Emily)
This is a picture from my first week at Georgetown. It's one of my favorite pictures of that time. I am wearing that thing on my arm because the vaccines they gave me made my arm look like it was stung by a swarm of angry mutant bees.

This is a picture from my first week at Georgetown. It’s one of my favorite pictures of that time. I am wearing that thing on my arm because the vaccines they gave me made my arm look like it was stung by a swarm of angry mutant bees.

2 thoughts on “Reason 312

  1. Pingback: Reason 263 | fabifabiana

  2. Pingback: Reason 201 | fabifabiana

Leave a Reply

